Hello and welcome back to my blog. Today I have an exclusive interview with Alfie Taylor, a semi-pro Footballer. He currently plays for Wellingborough Town in the UCL Premier as a striker. His previous clubs include AFC Rushden and Diamonds, Loughborough Dynamo, Cogenhoe United, Kettering Town, Northampton Spencer, Brackley Town, Daventry Town, Woodford United and Wellingborough Whitworths. He has spent most of his career in the Southern League or the United Counties League. He joined AFC Rushden and Diamonds on the 29th of June 2012, being their 3rd signing as a club. I asked him a few questions about his playing career and other Football related questions and here are his answers…

What was your favourite moment as a Diamonds player? Last minute goal against Cambridge.

Best goal you have ever scored? I’ve scored a few decent goals I can’t just pick 1. But my 1st ever goal for Diamonds wasn’t bad.

What did you enjoy the most about playing for Diamonds? Playing for the fans.

Which Footballer did you look up to? Alan Shearer.

What is the best thing about playing Football every week? The winning feeling.

What do you think of Diamonds support considering the level? Unbelievable for this level, got us through a lot of games by being our 12th man.

What makes Non League Football so special? It can be a stepping stone for talent like Vardy and playing in the FA Cup making money for small clubs.

If you could choose any team to play for in the world, who would it be and why? Millwall, it’s who I support and there is no better feeling than scoring for your boy hood club.

Best player you have ever played with? Darren Collins

Best player you have ever played against? Nigel Clough

Finally, when are you coming back to the Diamonds? The biggest regret of my football career was leaving Diamonds. I’ve never forgiven myself and I would come back tomorrow if I was given the chance.

Alfie scored some very important and memorable goals for the Diamonds, including the first ever goal against Thrapston, the goal away to Dover Athletic and of course, the last minute winner against Cambridge City.

Following a poll on AFCDiamonds.com, the winner of the October 2013 Player of the Month award is Alfie Taylor. Alfie picks up the monthly award following his memorable goal against Dover Athletic.

Photo: Malcolm Swinden Photography - Mal Swinden
AFC Rushden & Diamonds v Cogenhoe United

Following a poll on AFCDiamonds.com, the winner of the August 2012 Player of the Month award is Alfie Taylor. During the month he scored the first ever goal for the team as part of a brace against Thrapston, as well as scoring the vital late equaliser at Wootton Blue Cross.

Alfie-Taylor-POTM-August-2012-620x520

Alfie celebrates after scoring a memorable goal in front of the Away fans at Dover to make it 1-1.

download (1)

Thank you to Alfie Taylor for answering my questions and willing to be part of my blog.

Thank you for reading my blog, I hope you enjoyed it. Any feedback would be appreciated and check back on my blog next week for a new post. Jimmy

3 thoughts on “Interview with Alfie Taylor

Leave a comment