Hello and welcome back to my blog. Today I bring you an interview with a Professional Footballer, Simeon Jackson. Simeon currently plays for Blackburn Rovers in the Championship as a striker. Simeon played for Dulwich Hamlet FC as a youngster and worked at McDonalds to bring in some income.

Jackson, reflecting on how far he has travelled from his McDonald’s experience, said: “I could write a book about it. I remember going into Croydon College, registering for a business studies course, and I thought: ‘I don’t want to do this, I just want to play football.’ I left and walked out half an hour into the first lesson, deciding that I wanted to make it.

First Professional Club – Rushden and Diamonds.

He started his professional career at Rushden and Diamonds after being picked up as a young determined footballer – progressing through the youth ranks, he impressed at Under 18 level which gave himself a chance to shine professionally – he made a number of bench appearances towards the end of the 2003/04 season but didn’t make his debut until the following season. His first appearance in League Two aged just 17 saw him coming off the bench in the local derby away at Northampton Town at the start of the 2004 / 2005 season. Simeon’s performances brought him to the attention of a number of high profile clubs, and resulted in trials at both Manchester United and Manchester City. He went out on a one month loan to Raunds Town in December 2005, and towards the end of the 2005 / 2006 season, Simeon proved a revelation up front, scoring 5 goals in 16 appearances. He signed his first professional contract on 28 April 2006, keeping him at Nene Park until the summer of 2008. His form continued to improve into the 2006 / 2007 season scoring consecutive hat-tricks in September 2006 against Altrincham and Tamworth. By the end of the season, he was the club’s top scorer with a total of 19 goals. He went on to score 43 goals in 103 appearances for RDFC.

Moving On

Simeon scored 18 goals in the first half of the 2007/08 which attracted further interest from other clubs in the January transfer window. With just hours remaining of the window, Simeon signed for League 1 side Gillingham for £150,000. Since then, Simeon has played for Norwich, Eintracht Braunschweig, Millwall, Coventry City, Barnsley and now Blackburn.

He scored 42 goals for Gillingham in 115 appearances, before he signed a two year contract with Championship side Norwich City on 15 July 2010 for an undisclosed fee. He was offered a further one year contract in May 2012. He made a total of 86 appearances for the Canaries, scoring 21 goals, before being released on 20 May 2013. On 10 July 2013, Simeon signed for Bundesliga side Eintracht Braunschweig on a two-year deal. Simeon was released by the German side on 31 January 2014 after 9 appearances, and signed an end of season deal the following day with Championship side Millwall. He was released on a free transfer, and joined League One side Coventry City on 18 August 2014. Simeon started the 2015/16 season with Barnsley but has since then moved on loan to Blackburn.

simeon
Simeon Jackson of Rushden and Diamonds in action during the League Two match between Northampton Town and Rushden & Diamonds at Sixfields Stadium on February 4, 2006 in Northampton, England. (Photo by Pete Norton/Getty Images)

International Career

He won his first full International cap with Canada on 30 May 2009, scoring the only goal in a 1-0 win over Cyprus and has since become a regular in the side. Simeon has gone on to playing 45 times for his country, scoring 6 goals. He was shortlisted for the 2011 Canadian player of the year and was only the second ever Canadian to score a hat-trick in World Cup Qualifying.

The Interview

I asked Simeon a number of questions and here are his responses…

What was your favourite moment as a Rushden and Diamonds player? Making my debut against Northampton.

Best goal you have ever scored? The goal against Portsmouth to secure promotion for Norwich.

What did you enjoy most about playing for Rushden and Diamonds? I came through the ranks and the club gave me a chance to play Professional Football and I had a love for the club!

Which footballer did you look up to? I looked up to Ronaldo R9 and Thierry Henry.

What is the best thing about playing football every week? Knowing that I am doing what I love every week and I get to do it in front of the fans!

What do you think of Diamond’s amazing support considering the level? The support for Diamonds at the current level doesn’t surprise me as I used to see Nene Park packed week in week out. Those fans will always be there!

What are your views about Nene Park? I cried when I drove past Nene Park a few years ago! Couldn’t believe there was a Kettering sign up! I also couldn’t believe the state it was in! I was pissed… Couldn’t believe it.. Like seriously pissed….

If you choose any team to play for in the world, who would it be and why? I would love to play for Real Madrid! The kit, the stadium, the fans! The size, the beauty of the club. It’s so elegant and magical.

Best player you have played with? Wes Hoolahan followed by Atiba Hutchinson and Andy Burgess.

Best ground you have ever played at? Old Trafford.

Best match you played in as a Rushden and Diamonds player and why? The game against Stockport County because I scored my first goal for the club.

Finally, would you ever consider coming back to AFC Rushden and Diamonds as a player/manager or anything else? I will be back one day!

jacksongoalcele
Simeon Jackson scores a last minute winner for Gillingham at Wembley to send his team into League 1.

Thank you to Simeon Jackson for answering my questions and wanting to appear on my blog.

Also, thank you to anyone who has taken a couple of minutes to read this blog, I very much appreciate it. Check back again for more content soon.

Twitter: @Jimmy_Wittish99

 

Leave a comment